What's Francophonie?

La Francophonie is a group of 88 member states and governments from five continents sharing French as a common language. These countries collectively have over 1 billion inhabitants spread across five continents, of whom 300 million are Francophones. La Francophonie’s main institution is the Organisation internationale de la Francophonie (OIF).

Special attention is paid to women and youth, as well as access to information and communication technologies. The four missions of La Francophonie are to:

  • promote the French language, and cultural and linguistic diversity;
  • promote peace, democracy and human rights;
  • support education, training, higher education and research; and
  • develop co-operation aimed at supporting sustainable development.

Francophonie in Oslo

The Francophonie Festival in Oslo celebrates the rich and diverse cultures of the member countries of the International Organizations of la Francophonie.

The embassies of Austria, Algeria, Belgium, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Canada, France, Egypt, Greece, Hungary, Latvia, Mexico, Morocco, Poland, Romania, Serbia, Switzerland, UAE and Tunisia, have come together, in cooperation with the French Institute, the French School in Oslo René Cassin, Cosmopolite, the African Cultural Centre (CAK) and the French Teachers’ Association, to organize the Francophonie Festival.